Skip to Main Content

Cold War, 1945 - 1991: Guide to finding information

Databases

Online Databases give you access to scholar articles and magazine and newspaper articles

Databases on line includes Global Issues, History Reference Centre, Britannica

Britannica is a good resource for basic understanding of the Cold War looking at the people, events and strategies that developed at this time. Cold War

History Reference Centre
 An example:  Cold War eBook

Explora Database

Cold War  permalink to a search on the Cold War

Nikita Khrushchev

ClickView Videos

Alternatively go to the ClickView Playlist – 15 videos on aspects of the Cold War available through this link
https://clickv.ie/w/kNLp

ClickView Videos –
if the links don’t work go straight to ClickView on Line under BrigHub and type in the term, “Cold War”, “Cuban Missile Crisis” or ”Berlin Wall”

External Resources

State Library of Queensland Databases – you will need to be registered to access these databases.

Search the catalogue for eBooks, online academic journals, papers and authoritative sources
from Databases such as JSTOR. JSTOR also gives free access to some online sources.

A picture containing text

Description automatically generated

Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.

For example:
Soviet Cuban Relations 1956 - 1960

 

Where to find information


Federated Search
 through Oliver
enables you to search the Databases, ClickView videos and Google at the same time

Some Results using Federated Search

 

 

Tullow Centre Library, Brigidine College. 2022